Cricket, Sports

BPL T20 2012 Auction: Full List of Local & International Players

BPL 2012 Auction: Local & International Players List


BPL T20 2012 Bangladesh Premiere League

The preliminary lists of local and foreign players, who will be available for the players’ auction of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), has been released yesterday.

The players’ auction will be held on January 19, 2012 at Hotel Radisson.

The BPL governing body also informed that the fresh list and a list of Indian players will be announced soon.

BPL 2012 Local Players List

Grade A (Base Price $45000)

Mahmudullah Riyad, Abdur Razzak, Nasir Hossain, Junaed Siddiqui, Imrul Kayes, Mashrafi Bin Mortaza.

Grade B (Base Price $30000)

Nazimuddin, Rokibul Hasan, Elias Sunny, Sohrawardi Shuvo, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain, Forhad Reza, Mohammad Mithun, Jahurul Islam, Sahadat Hossain and Naeem Islam

Grade C (Base price $20000)

Tushar Imran, Nadif Chowdhury, Nazmul Hossain, Farhad Hossain, Shabbir Rahman, Asif Ahmed, Mahmudul Hasan, Rajin Saleh, Mehrab Hossain, Mominul Haque, Faisal Hossain, Aftab Ahmed, Shohag Gazi, Arafat Sunny, Mosharraf Hossain, Nazmul Hossain Opu, Nur Hossain, Enamul Haque, Robiul Islam, Moktar Ali, Syed Rasel, Al-Amin, Mahbubul Alam, Dollar Mahmud, Mohammad Sharif, Arafat Salahuddin, Ziaur Rahman, Dhiman Ghosh, Shuvagoto Hom, Shamsur Rahman, Alauddin Babu, Anamul Haque, Rony Talukder, Nafis Iqbal, Abishek Mitra, Soumya Sarkar, Nasir Uddin Faruque, Mysukur Rahman, Fazle Rabbi, Marshal Ayub, Abul Bashar, Tasamul Haque, Tanvir Haider, Saqlain Sajib, Sanjamul Islam, Shaker Ahmed, Murad Khan, Sahagir Hossain, Kamrul Islam, Delwar Hossain, Taposh Baysha, Shuvashish Roy, Kazi Kamrul, Tazin Ahmed, Abul Hasan, Jubair Ahmed, Ejaj Ahmed, Imtiaz Hossain, Mohammad Sahajada, Sahin Hossain, Ariful Hoque, Mahbubul Karim, Rezaul Karim and Abu Zahed Rahi.

BPL 2012 International Players List


BPL T20 Logo: Bangladesh Premiere League

Grade A ( Base price $100,000)

Chris Gayle, Kerion Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Matt Prior, Abdur Razzaq, Scott Styris, Shoaib Malik, Chaminda Vass, Mutthiah Muralidaran, Dirk Nannes, Herschelle Gibbs, Ajantha Mendis, Azhar Mahmood and Shahid Afridi

Grade B (Base price $50,000)

Suliemann Benn, Lionel Baker, Sanath Jaysuria, Lou Vincent, James Tredwell, Nial O Brien, Dinesh Ramdin, Dinesh Kaneria, Fidel Edwards, Graham Onions, T Kandamby, James Foster, Kamran Akmal, Peter Trego, Rana Naved ul Hasan, Ian Blackwell, Sajid Mahmood, Taufiq Umar, Dwayne Smith, Yasir Arafat, Andre Nel, Hamilton Masakadza, Raza Hasan, Andrew Hall, Elton Chigumbura, Geraint Jones, Gary Keedy and Brad Hodge

Grade C (Base price $30,000)

Nikita Miller, Kevin Cooper, James Tredwell, Bruce Kruger, Hamish Marshall, Andre Adams, Irfan Ahmed, Freddie Klokker, Alexie Kervezee, Darren Ian Steven, Gerrie Snynam, Imran Nazir, Adnan Akmal, James Hilderth, Lendl Simmons, Mohhammad Sami, Chris Scofield, Riki Wessels, Rizwan A Cheema, S Chandrapaul, Tino Best, Jason Roy, Aaron Finch, Joshua Cobb, Nasir Jamshed, Hamid Hassan, Hamish Marshal, Johan Myburgh, Chris Simpson, Sene Ervine, Claude Henderson, Graham Manou, Ryan Campbell, Simon Jones, Scott Borthwick, Thomas Odoyo, Shakib Ali, Jehan Mubarak, Pervez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Kaushalaya Weeraratne, Nuwan Zoysa, Muhammad Nabi, Khuram Sajid, Yasir Hamid.


There is a lot of talk among the local cricketers ahead of their auction for the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) which will be held on January 19.

National selectors alongside the BPL governing council have put together an 82-member list divided into three categories. Some of the more accomplished cricketers are expecting a huge pay day while the lesser-known ones are crossing their fingers for a lucky break.

“The BPL governing council and we, the selectors, have put a lot of thought into putting together the list. We have tried to make sure that those placed in the top two grades have a better chance of getting a team in the competition,” said chief selector Akram Khan.

Though Grade A and B are largely fine, the placement of Aftab Ahmed, Shuvogoto Hom Chowdhury and Faisal Hossain is quite surprising given their style of cricket. But Akram believed that it was performance that ultimately counted.

“Looking at the statistics, you’ll see that he [Aftab Ahmed] hasn’t played that well in the last 2-3 years. He also hasn’t scored that quickly either. The same goes for [Faisal Hossain] Dickens,” said the former national captain.

But the louder outcry is from those who were left out. The likes of Iftekhar Nayeem, Mizanur Rahman, Uttam Sarkar, Talha Jubair, Nabil Samad, Monir Hossain and Tarek Aziz are not in the list and given that 20-25 cricketers will eventually be cut out, these players will miss the ride for the first season.

The inclusion of Rajin Saleh and Mohammad Sharif have also raised questions due to their style or future prospects while Avishek Mitra (one first-class game; one half-century in Premier League), Abul Bashar (91 first-class runs; 1 Premier League game) and Mohammad Shahzada (one first-class game, no Premier League games) are also strange picks.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>