Asia Cup 2012: Team India Players Squad List Confirmed by BCCI

Team India Players Squad List Confirmed by BCCI for Asia Cup 2012

Asia-Cup-2012-Indian-TeamThe All India Senior Selection Committee met at the Cricket Center earlier today to pick the Indian team for the Asia Cup 2012, to be played in Bangladesh from March 11 to March 22. Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan and Umesh Yadav have been rested on fitness grounds.

Bangladesh, Pakistan & Sri Lanka are the other three teams for Asia Cup 2012. But none of those cricket boards yet finalized the team. Bangladesh & Pakistan team will be declared after the end of BPL with today final match. Sri Lankan team will be confirmed after CB Series final and chance of any change in the team is very nominal.

The full 15-member Indian team list for Asia Cup 2012 is as follows,

  1. MS Dhoni (capt & wk)
  2. Virat Kohli (vice-capt)
  3. Sachin Tendulkar
  4. Gautam Gambhir
  5. Rohit Sharma
  6. Suresh Raina
  7. Manoj Tiwary
  8. Ravindra Jadeja
  9. R Ashwin
  10. Praveen Kumar
  11. Vinay Kumar
  12. Rahul Sharma
  13. Yusuf Pathan
  14. Irfan Pathan
  15. Ashok Dinda


Complete Report on Indian Team Selection for Asia Cup 2012

Virender Sehwag has been rested from India’s one-day squad for next month’s Asia Cup, with Virat Kohli taking over as vice-captain. Sachin Tendulkar has been picked for the tournament, while allrounder Yusuf Pathan and Bengal fast bowler Ashok Dinda make comebacks. Fast bowlers Zaheer Khan and Umesh Yadav have been rested.

Kohli’s elevation to vice-captaincy comes after his sustained run of success in one-day cricket. He was the highest run-getter in the format in 2011, is the leading run-scorer in the ongoing Commonwealth Bank series and has been one of India’s few bright spots on the dismal tour of Australia. “The selection committee and board feels that Virat Kohli could be good future captaincy material,” Kris Srikkanth, the chairman of selectors, told reporters in Mumbai.

Over the past few days, there had been intense media speculation about whether Sehwag and Tendulkar would be selected for the Asia Cup. Sehwag has had a poor run in the ongoing CB series in Australia, averaging 13 in five one-day innings.

Srikkanth stressed that Sehwag had not been axed. “Unfortunately Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan have been asked to take rest by the physiotherapist. It is purely on injury grounds both have been rested,” he said. “I can assure you that nobody has been dropped.”

Tendulkar has been selective about the ODI series he plays over the past couple of years. The CB series, in which he’s made 143 runs in seven innings, was his first limited-overs engagement for India since last year’s World Cup.

The CB series is also the only ODI series the injury-prone Zaheer has been involved in since the World Cup. The decision to rest him and Yadav opened the doors for Dinda, who last represented India in the previous edition of the Asia Cup, in 2010. His selection comes on the back of a successful Ranji Trophy, in which he was the second-highest wicket-taker with 37 in six matches. Several other contenders for a fast bowling slot, including Varun Aaron and Sreesanth, are still recovering from injuries.

Allrounder Yusuf has recovered from a knee injury which cut short his Ranji season, and will resume his battle for the No. 7 allrounder’s slot with Ravindra Jadeja. Yusuf has been out of the Indian side since a listless tour of West Indies soon after being part of the World Cup-winning squad. Jadeja cornered that spot with some impressive performances against England and West Indies last year, but has not been at his best in the CB series. In the league phase, he took three wickets at an average of 109, and scored 101 runs in seven innings.

Among the fringe players, India have retained batsman Manoj Tiwary and legspinner Rahul Sharma, but have axed backup wicketkeeper Parthiv Patel.

India are defending champions of the Asia Cup, which will be held in Mirpur from March 11 to 22 and also features Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.


Earlier Developments on Team India Selection for Asia Cup 2012

Indian selectors will have a lot to discuss and deliberate in the wake of the national cricket team’s pathetic show in Australia when they meet here tomorrow to pick the squad for next month’s Asia Cup in Bangladesh.

With the team seemingly in disarray in Australia because of a collective failure, especially in the batting department, Krishnamachari Srikkanth and his co-selectors would have to do a fine balancing act to get Indian cricket back on track.

The five wise men are under immense pressure from the millions of fans in the country to wield the axe and discard non-performing members of the squad now in Australia.

Whether they rest or axe senior batsmen like Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag, who is in woeful form at present and is also allegedly at loggerheads with the skipper, and under performing juniors like Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja — and inject new blood is open to conjecture.

It is not clear whether skipper Dhoni, after having played non-stop cricket and looking jaded himself, will be rested for the four-nation continental championships to be held in Dhaka between from March 11 and 22.

India are the defending champions and five-time winners of the trophy and a huge alteration in the composition of the squad is unlikely.

But there are going to be changes after the consecutive flop show in England and Australia by the World Cup-winning team.

There are some injury worries too, notably to R Vinay Kumar and Irfan Pathan.

Kumar sat out the team’s penultimate league game against Australia and also missed the last game against Srilanka at Hobart, while Pathan, who collided on the field with Suresh Raina at Sydney, was not fit enough to take the field in their final round-robin match against the Lankans.

The bowling cupboard looks a bit bereft of quality unless the selectors think its wise to go back to the likes of injury-prone Munaf Patel and Ashish Nehra, who were part of the World Cup-winning squad.

Bengal medium pacer Ashok Dinda appears to be the front runner to resurrect his international career following a very impressive display in domestic first class cricket this season.

However, the top wicket taker in the one-dayers is little known medium pacer Ronit More, from Belgaum in Karnataka, with 15 scalps at an impressive average of 11.5 and second-highest is Delhi’s experienced Parvinder Awana, also a medium pacer, along with Shailendra Gehlot of Railways, another new ball bowler.

Karnataka’s Abhimanyu Mithun has struggled a bit to adjust to Indian conditions after returning without playing a Test in Australia and the highest wicket taker among slow bowlers is Maharashtra left-arm spinner Akshay Darekar (9 wickets in 3 games at 16.22).

Darekar had grabbed 13 wickets in the Ranji Trophy game against Hyderabad on an under-prepared wicket earlier in the season.

How much the selectors, who have watched the one-day domestic tournament, are swayed by these displays is to be seen, but beyond a shadow of doubt is the fact that they are under intense scrutiny to deliver the goods and bring India back in the groove.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>