BPL Final Report: Dhaka Gladiators crowned as First champions of BPL 2012

Dhaka Gladiators crowned as First champions of BPL 2012

Dhaka Gladiators won the BPL Final 2012 - Season 1 of Bangladesh Premier League

Dhaka Gladiators won the BPL Final 2012 - Season 1 of Bangladesh Premier League

Dhaka Gladiators won the inaugural Bangladesh Premier League by bringing out their A-game in the knockout stages of the tournament. They took only 15.4 overs to overhaul the Barisal Burners total and complete a eight-wicket win in front of a packed Shere Bangla Stadium in Mirpur.

The gulf between the two teams was evident as the Pakistan-heavy Gladiators had a lot more to offer with bat and ball compared to the top-heavy Burners, who could only score 140 for 7 in 20 overs. Gladiators’ young Anamul Haque was the only local player to impress, scoring 49 off 38 balls with five fours and a six. He sealed the victory for the home team with a lofted on-drive against left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam with 26 balls to spare.

Anamul added 110 for the second wicket with the opener Imran Nazir, who hammered six fours and six sixes in his 43-ball 75. That partnership ensured victory for Gladiators, whose turnaround in the tournament in the knockout stages coincided with the arrival of Shahid Afridi and Saeed Ajmal.

BPL 2012 Final: Shakib Al Hasab is the BPL Man of the Series

BPL 2012 Final: Shakib Al Hasab is the BPL Man of the Series to get a brand new HONDA City car

The Burners’ defence of their modest total suffered because of poor catching. Mohammad Mithun, a wicketkeeper who was auctioned for $80,000, had a terrible time under the lights. Fielding in the deep, he dropped Nazimuddin twice at deep square-leg off consecutive Kabir Ali deliveries in the second over.

Their problems weren’t restricted to poor catching and bowling. The Burners’ batting also suffered from early losses. As soon as Ahmed Shehzad fell for 28 in the fifth over by failing to clear mid-off, and Phil Mustard followed by getting trapped leg-before by Saeed Ajmal, it was all down to the captain Brad Hodge.

The Australia batsman didn’t disappoint, hitting four boundaries and four sixes in his unbeaten 51-ball 70. Hodge, despite his efforts, couldn’t put together a decent partnership against a high quality bowling attack as the rest simply wilted.

The Burners also benefited from some slip-ups in the field, with Gladiators’ Dhiman Ghosh topping the list of offenders. The wicketkeeper first dropped a skier from Shehzad before missing a stumping off Ajmal, but he made amends with a reflex catch off a ripper from Afridi. Later, even Afridi and Azhar Mahmood dropped a skier each.

In the end, it was the Gladiators’ star power that took them through. Their efforts to keep some Dhaka players in the line-up paid off as Mohammad Ashraful, Elias Sunny and Anamul all performed well. It was disappointing that no Barisal-born players were given enough opportunities in the Burners line-ups throughout the tournament.

But as far as a Twenty20 jamboree goes, some of the cricket was breathtaking, though the off-field issues will remain the talking point till the next edition.

BPL Man of the Series Presentation goes to Shakib Al Hassan

BPL Final Full Presentation Ceremony Video

BPL 2012 Final Match Full Scorecard

Match-33: Barisal Burners v Dhaka Gladiators

BPL Final Result: Dhaka Gladiators won by 8 wickets (with 26 balls remaining)

  • Twenty20 match | 2011/12 season
  • Played at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
  • 29 February 2012 – day/night (20-over match)
Barisal Burners innings (20 overs maximum) R M B 4s 6s SR
Ahmed Shehzad c Saeed Ajmal b Shahid Afridi 28 21 20 3 1 140.00
BJ Hodge* not out 70 86 51 4 4 137.25
P Mustard† lbw b Saeed Ajmal 5 5 5 1 0 100.00
Mithun Ali c Imran Nazir b Shahid Afridi 1 5 5 0 0 20.00
Mominul Haque c †Dhiman Ghosh b Naved-ul-Hasan 11 15 13 0 0 84.61
Farhad Hossain c †Dhiman Ghosh b Shahid Afridi 11 14 14 0 1 78.57
Yasir Arafat c †Dhiman Ghosh b Naved-ul-Hasan 5 6 6 1 0 83.33
Kabir Ali run out (Elias Sunny) 6 12 7 0 0 85.71
Alauddin Babu not out 0 1 0 0 0
Extras (lb 1, w 1, nb 1) 3
Total (7 wickets; 20 overs) 140 (7.00 runs per over)
Did not bat: Suhrawadi Shuvo, Nazmul Islam
Fall of wickets: 1-43 (Ahmed Shehzad, 4.2 ov), 2-48 (Mustard, 5.2 ov), 3-49 (Mithun Ali, 6.2 ov), 4-74 (Mominul Haque, 10.2 ov), 5-94 (Farhad Hossain, 14.4 ov), 6-101 (Yasir Arafat, 16.2 ov), 7-138 (Ali, 19.5 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
Mashrafe Mortaza 2 0 17 0 8.50
Azhar Mahmood 2 0 25 0 12.50 (1nb)
Shahid Afridi 4 0 23 3 5.75
Saeed Ajmal 4 0 23 1 5.75 (1w)
Elias Sunny 4 0 27 0 6.75
Naved-ul-Hasan 4 0 24 2 6.00
Dhaka Gladiators innings (target: 141 runs from 20 overs) R M B 4s 6s SR
Imran Nazir c Ahmed Shehzad b Alauddin Babu 75 67 43 6 6 174.41
Nazimuddin c Mominul Haque b Suhrawadi Shuvo 13 14 12 2 0 108.33
Anamul Haque not out 49 56 38 5 1 128.94
Azhar Mahmood not out 0 3 1 0 0 0.00
Extras (b 2, lb 1, w 4) 7
Total (2 wickets; 15.4 overs) 144 (9.19 runs per over)
Did not bat: Elias Sunny, Mashrafe Mortaza*, Mohammad Ashraful, Naved-ul-Hasan, Dhiman Ghosh†, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi
Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Nazimuddin, 3.1 ov), 2-136 (Imran Nazir, 14.5 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
Yasir Arafat 2 0 25 0 12.50 (2w)
Kabir Ali 2 0 26 0 13.00
Nazmul Islam 3.4 0 26 0 7.09 (1w)
Suhrawadi Shuvo 3 0 24 1 8.00
Ahmed Shehzad 3 0 31 0 10.33
Alauddin Babu 2 0 9 1 4.50 (1w)
Match details
Toss: Dhaka Gladiators, who chose to field
Series: Dhaka Gladiators won the 2011/12 Bangladesh Premier League
Player of the match: Imran Nazir (Dhaka Gladiators)
Player of the series: Shakib Al Hasan
Umpires: Enamul Haque and DL Orchard (South Africa)
TV umpire: Sharfuddoula
Match referee: MJ Procter (South Africa)
Reserve umpire: Masudur Rahman


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>