SAFF 2015

SAFF Football 2015: 20-members Bangladesh Players List Confirmed

Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) has confirmed 20-members Bangladesh National Football Team squad for the SAFF Football Tournament 2015, known as SAFF Suzuki Cup 2015.

Mamunul Islam will lead the Bangladesh side in the 8th SAFF Football Championship under the new head coach Maruful Haq. Last time Bangladesh football team won the SAFF Cup was a decade ago, on 2003, beating Maldives in penalty shoot-out (5-3). In 2005, Bangladesh lost to India in the SAFF Final by 2-0.

Bangladesh hosted the SAFF Football in 2009, but failed to reach the finals losing to India by 1-0 in the semis. In this years SAFF Football 2015, Bangladesh is in Group B with defending champions Afghanistan, Maldives & Bhutan.

Bangladesh will face a tough task against Afghanistan, as the champion team gone past a long way to their performance. Also stiff resistance is predicted from Maldives, while the Bhutan match might be a tricky one for Bangladesh for get some extra goals to push the Group B SAFF points table.

As per FIFA ranking, Afghanistan placed at 150 & Maldives at 160, are the two top teams of SAFF Football Championship 2015, both clubed in Group B with Bangladesh & Bhutan for some high velocity matches to show.

In Group A draw, initially the host India piled up with Pakistan, Nepal & Sri Lanka. But the Pakistan team withdrawn from the SAFF 2015 tournament due to an internal crisis of Pakistan Football Federation (PFF).


Bangladesh National Football Team for SAFF Suzuki Cup 2015

20-members Bangladesh National Football Team consists of 3 goalkeepers, 8 defenders, 7 mid-fielders and only 2 striking forwards. Lets look at the full Bangladesh squad,

Goalkeepers: Shahidul Alam Sohel, Russell Mahmud Liton, Ashraful Islam Rana.
Defenders: Nasiruddin Chowdhury, Nasirul Islam Nasir, Yeasin Khan, Yamin Ahmed Chowdhury, Wali Faisal, Rayhan Hasan, Topu Barman, Atiqur Rahman Meshu.
Midfielders: Mamunul Islam Mamun, Jamal Bhuiyan, Zahid Hossain, Hemonta Vincent Biswas, Jewel Rana, Monayem Khan Raju, Sohel Rana.
Forwards: Nabib Newaj Jibon, Shakhwat Hossain Rony.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>